18th July 2011

Gary wins Captains Prize

Gary is Captains Prize Winner.

Gary Ryan(14) won Seamus O Briens Captains Prize last Sunday in very windy and blustery conditions. On the previous Sunday 100 members took part in the qualifier where conditions were near perfect and the cut off was nett 71. After scoring a 66 in the qualifier Gary played great golf in such windy conditions and scored a fabulous 68 last Sunday a nett total 134. In second place with a fantastic nett 66 in the playoff was Johnny Maher (10) 69 & 66 (135). Third place Nick Byrne (18) 64 & 71 (135). Fourth Tommy Malone(12) 67 &72 (139). Fifth John Byrne (14) 70 & 70 (140). Best gross John Kelly Kelly (8) 71 & 74 (145). Front 9 Kane Ryan. Back 9 T. J. Coughlan. Past Captain Jimmy Fitzpatrick (22) 67 & 73 (140). At the presentation of prizes captain Seamus O Brien thanked all who took part over the two days. He complemented greenkeeper Edward Power on the fabulous condition of the course. He also thanked the committee and course management for all their help over the past two weeks.

garet wins Captains Prize

Lady Captain Josie O Gorman held her Lady Captains Day last Sunday week. The competition was a single strableford which was followed by a meal and presentation of prizes in the clubhouse. In very windy conditions Magaret Murphy (23) was the winner with 32 Pts.. Results:- 1. Magaret Murphy, 2. Ann Foskin, 3. Josie O Gorman. Best Gross Carmel Fennelly. F9 Anne Murphy. B9 Kathleen Slattery.   Lowest number of putts Imelda Moloney.

Rumble for Crumlin.

This year. Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital Crumlin, Club Challenge Qualifier will be held on next Sunday July 24th. Members are asked to support this worthy cause. The competition will be a 3 person rumble and teams may comprise of any combination, ladies, gents or mixed. Entry fee will be 60euros per team. The winning team will represent the club in the Leinster Final which will be held in Hermitage Golf club, Lucan on Thursday 25th August.



12/07/11 MV Seniors Single Stableford(At New Ross) 1. C. Foskin (12) 34 Pts 2. Jim Fitzpatrick (22) 34Pts 3. J. Coleman (20) 33 Pts.

14/07/11 Open 13 Hole S. 1. T J Coughlan. 2. Paul O Brien

12/07/11 Single Stableford1. J. Deasy (18) 37 Pts 2. W. Grace (6) 35Pts 3. N. Fahy (20) 35 Pts.



Sunday July 24th        3 Person Rumble

Tuesday July 26th       MV Seniors Competition

Thursday July 28th       Open 13 Hole Single Stableford

Sunday July 31st         3 Person Rumble