22nd August 2011

News 22/08/2011

Carmel and Patrick hold their Presidents’s Prize Day.

Over a 90 members took part in last Sunday’s mens competition to honour Club President Patrick Halligan. The competition was an 18 hole Singles Stroke and was played in perfect golfing conditions. The winner was Richard O Hara playing off 17 with a fabulous Nett score of 61. In 2nd place T J Coughlan (18) 64 and Nicky Byrne (17) was 3rd on 65. Best Gross went to Paul Whelan (5) Nett 66. F9 Kane Ryan. B9 John Coffey. Past President John Byrne (14) 69. Best Senior Tommy Malone (12) 67.

At the presentation cermony which took place in the clubhouse afterwards Patrick thanked all who took part and complimented the course staff for having the course in such splendid condition. He also thanked the office staff and club committee members for all their help in organizing the event. Medal winners on the day were R. O Hara, Paul Whelan, Kevin Kelly and Mark Phelan.

There was also a big turn out for Lady President Carmel Fennellys prize which also took place last Sunday. The 18 hole single stableford was played in glorious sunshine. On Sunday night after food and refreshments the presentation of prizes took place. 1. Anne Foskin. 2. Anne Murphy. 3. Noreen Bookle. Best Gross Kathleen Lanigan. F9 Jos Holden. B9 Nuala Cummins.

Charity Day

The Ladies club are holding a charity event in aid of the Irish Heart Foundation on Wednesday September 7th. Tee times will run from 10.00 to 12.00. This event will be open to visitors. For details contact the clubhouse 0567768122.


16/08/11 MV Seniors Single Stroke 1. Jim Maher (18) nett 68. 2 Jimmy Fitzpatrick (22) 69. 3. John Leahy (24) 72.

18/08/11 Open 13 Hole Stableford . Winner Declan Connolly

17/08/11 MV Ladies Single Stableford Winner Anne Murphy


Sunday Aug 28th        Single Stableford

Tuesday Aug 30th        MV Seniors Competition

Wednesday Aug 31st  MV Ladies Competition

Thursday Sept 1st          Open 13 Hole Single Stableford

Sunday Sept 4 th         Single Stableford