5th July 2011

News 5/7/11

Captains Prize

Next Sunday Shamie O Brien holds his captains prize qualifying round. The competition will be an 18 hole single stroke with the top 25 qualifiers and equals going forward to the play off which will commence at 2.00 PM on the following Sunday July 17th. It will also be GOY and monthly medal event. The play off will also be an 18 hole single stroke. To register for next Sunday contact the clubhouse 056-7768122 or email info@mviewgolf.com

Cha claims O’Neill Cup

On Sunday last 40 golfers took part in the annual Dan O’Neill Senior Cup. The conditions of the day reflected great scoring. At a reception after the event Club Captain Seamus O’Brien and Senior Captain John Murphy thanked all competitors for their usual great support with this event. This has been the 5th year the competition has been held with numbers growing each year. Both Captains thanked the O’Neill Family, proprietors, Michael Dobbyn, Manager and all the team for their assistance with the event. Edward Power, Course Superintendent, was also thanked for the fantastic condition of the course. As the presentation got under way, first prize with to Michael “Cha” Whelan who returned to the clubhouse with 40 points. In second place Wexford member John Coleman returned with 39 points and local member Frank Costelloe returned with 38 points, claiming third place. Captain Seamus O’Brien also presented long time golfing friend Seamus Nolan with the Golfer of The Year trophy. The Spring League prizes were also presented to winners Tony & Tommy Malone, John Walsh and Noel Cottrell. The prize was overnight accommodation and golf at the Rathsallagh Country House Hotel.

Rumble for Crumlin.

This year. Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital Crumlin, Club Challenge Qualifier will be held on Sunday July 24th. The competition will be a 3 person rumble and teams may comprise of any combination, ladies, gents or mixed. The winning team will represent the club in the Leinster Final which will be held in Hermitage Golf club, Lucan on Thursday 25th August.


16/06/11 Open 13 Hole. 1. John Leahy 31pts

23/06/11 Open 13 Hole. 1. Declan Connolly 33pts 2. James Byrne 31pts 3. Paul O’Brien 31pts

26/06/11 Open Single Stableford. 1. Kevin O’Neill 41pts 2. Niall Walsh 38pts 3. Michael Doyle 38pts

26/06/11 Dan O’Neill Senior Cup. 1. Michael Whelan 40pts 2. John Coleman 39pts

3. Frank Costelloe 38pts

03/07/11 Single Stableford 1. T J Dowling (16) 44 Pts. 2. K. Kavanagh (12) 43 Pts. 3. J. Flynn (19) 43 Pts

30/06/11 Open 13 Hole. 1. J. Flynn 35pts 2. N. Byrne 34pts.


Thursday June 30th      Open 13 Hole Single Stableford

Sunday July 03rd        Single Stableford

Sunday July 10th       Captains Prize Qualifier (Single Stroke)

Sunday July 17th       18 Hole Single Stableford

Sunday July 17th       Captains Prize 18 Hole Play Off (Single Stroke) at 2.00 PM.